Payments can be made by phone during business hours or online 24 hours a day. Please make sure to record your confirmation number when making a payment by phone or online. We will gladly assist you in making your payment if you contact us during business hours.
If you have inquiries regarding your policy with carriers not listed below, please contact our office to speak to a representative at 310-476-6561 during regular business hours.
Please be advised that the addresses listed below are only for payments, all changed requests should be made directly to our office by phone or email during regular business hours.
Does my auto insurance pay for personal property items such as a laptop, CDs, Ipod, clothing, handbags, wallets that are stolen or damaged in an accident while in my car? NO!! Personal property is not covered under an auto policy. Personal property left in car would be covered under a Homeowner's or Renter's policy and would be subject to any deductibles or limitations applicable to that policy. If you don't have a homeowner's policy, make sure you purchase a renter's policy to ensure coverage.
How long does an at fault accident stay on my driving record? An accident stays on your record for 3 years from the date of the accident. Points for chargeable accidents are added and removed at the renewal of your policy. There is no change to the policy during your policy period to add or delete points.
Do I need to file an SR-1 form with the DMV after an accident? YES!!!! You need to file an SR-1 (Report of Traffic Accident Occurring in California) after an accident if the total damage is over $750.00. You need to file this form regardless of whether the accident is your fault or not. You don't need to fill out all the information, only what you know and send it in. If you fail to do so, the DMV will suspend your driver's license so it is very important that this is completed and sent to the DMV after an accident.
How long does a violation stay on my driving record? Both minor and major violations stay on your record 3 years from the conviction date of your ticket; minor violations result in one point being charged to your record while major violations result in two points being charged. Points for traffic convictions are added and removed at the renewal of your policy. There is no change to the policy during your policy period to add or delete points..
How does a DUI affect my insurance rate? A DUI conviction stays on you record for 10 years, results in a mandatory suspension of driver's license for 30 days, loss of your CA Good driver discount for three years and you are charged two points.
Does a suspension affect my insurance rates? YES! If you've had a suspension in the last three years, you will lose your CA Good Driver discount for three years from the reinstatement date of that suspension. In other words, don't allow your license to be suspended even for one day; you will pay for it for the next three years.
Why should I buy from an agent? As an insurance broker, Van Duzer & Associates, inc. represents you-the client! We shop and compare our selection of insurance carriers to determine the best combination of price and coverage for you. Your satisfaction is our #1 priority and you can rely on our thorough knowledge of insurance to help guide you through the process from beginning to end.
What is Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage? Even though liability coverage is required by California law, 50% of all drivers are uninsured. If an uninsured motorist causes an accident you may not be able to recover any damages that you sustain. If you purchase Uninsured Motorist Coverage, your auto insurance company will pay you for the property damage and bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist. It will cover you, any family member, and anyone occupying a covered automobile. The limits for this coverage are usually the same limits that you selected for liability, although you can choose lower limits. There are also times when a person who causes an accident has liability insurance but your damages exceed the limits of that person's coverage and Underinsured Motorist Coverage is also included in your Uninsured Motorist Coverage.
How much liability coverage do I need? State law requires that you carry the minimum amount of $15K/30K/5K, which pays for injuries or damages you cause to someone else. While some people only need the minimum coverage, others have assets they need to protect. If you are unsure about what level of coverage you need, please contact our office to speak to a representative and we will be happy to help you in determining those needs.
How much should I insure my personal property for? We suggest everyone do a written inventory of all your belongings and then total the values. The total value should be the amount of coverage you should purchase. In the event of a total loss, your insurance would pay to replace your personal property total.
How do I determine if I'm underinsured on my house and how do I determine what the replacement cost is? We find that most homeowners are grossly underinsured, they have been incorrectly advised by other insurance agents that they can underinsure their home because there is an extended replacement cost (ERC) endorsement that gives them an extra 25%-50% so they don't need to worry. The fact is that you have to be insured to value in order for the ERC to even be applicable, if you aren't insured to value, it voids the ERC endorsement. There are many factors that apply in calculation the replacement cost...total square footage, quality of construction, custom built-ins, roof type, etc...